Hull Identification

Shotgun Ammunition Reloading.
Jay Dubya
New Shotgunner

Hull Identification

Post by Jay Dubya » Thu Sep 13, 2012 12:29 pm

I am getting ready to try my hand at reloading 12 ga. hulls. I have a bunch of Federal Target hulls that I would like to try to use. They are the cheapo $6 a box of 25 Walmart loads. Has anybody re-loaded any of these? If so I am not sure what the hull would resemble so I can look it up on a re-load chart.
I know the most popular hulls are AA's and STS's. Can I use that data?

RichNZ
Global Moderator

Re: Hull Identification

Post by RichNZ » Sun Sep 16, 2012 7:05 am

I'm not an expert at reloading at all... only just started this year. But have noticed that in the reloading data, the same components in a different hulls will create quite a range of speeds and pressures.

Stick to a hull that you've got a recipe for. Reloading is not an area where "oh, that's near enough" will do IMO.

Jay Dubya
New Shotgunner

Post by Jay Dubya » Sun Sep 16, 2012 10:39 am

Thanks for responding RichNZ. I bought the Lyman reloading manual and I see what your talking about with different hulls and components. I have to admit that it kind of has me baffled. There seems to be so much change in pressure and speed with so much little change in hulls and primers.

One of the things that bothers me is that there is no published data for the cheapo hulls. Which is what a lot of people buy and toss away. It's kind of a goldmine in a way. Like you I am just getting started. I will probably start buying the premium hulls. But with light loads and the CCI209 primer. I should be Ok. (I hope).

I don't need ultra magnum loads to kill a clay pigeon 40 yards away. I loaded 10 old universal hulls yesterday and went to the range to check them out. I examined them and found no pressure or decomposition problems. I hope to get 2-3 re-loads out them and toss them out.