School Me on MEC 600's

Shotgun Ammunition Reloading.
Scorpion8
Elite Shotgunner

School Me on MEC 600's

Post by Scorpion8 » Tue Jan 02, 2018 11:45 pm

LGS going out of business has several used MEC shotshell reloading presses. Trouble is no two look the same as far as set up of stations. They are older 600 Jr's, 12- or 20-GA. But the primer station on one is in a different spot than on the other. Are they that configurable, or has one of them been findoozled? Some parts on each seem to be missing. At $25 is it worth taking a chance on one, or will replacing enough parts soon make it uneconomical compared to new-in-box unit?
Imperious Moderatus
Retired USN
NRA Life ; NAHC Life
Pain heals, chicks dig scars.....glory -- lasts forever!

Synchronizor
Elite Shotgunner

Re: School Me on MEC 600's

Post by Synchronizor » Wed Jan 03, 2018 1:04 am

I'm not an expert on these, but from what I understand there are three generations to the MEC 600 Jr presses. There are the pre-'82s, the '82 - '85s, and the current Mark 5 version. The base, the wad guide, and the crimp starters are some easy things to look at to determine what generation the press is. A lot of the other parts are the same or similar though, and (as far as I know) the versions are all laid out the same with the various stations in the same places.

If you find a 600 Jr press that's mostly complete and in good shape for $25, go for it! I have a current Mark 5 that I use for everything, and it's awesome. I also have a second 600 Jr that's a mostly-complete pre-'82. It's a 10ga model, and I don't shoot 10ga, but it was thrown in for free by the guy who sold me the Mark 5, and it's been handy as a parts donor.