sporting shells

hobylicious
New Shotgunner

sporting shells

Post by hobylicious » Sun Feb 24, 2013 12:36 am

im relatively new to buying shells for sport clays, i was curious to if anyone had any suggestions on brands, weights, shot size etc for sporting clays...anything not federal ammo that is...i had a really bad run in with their company and wont purchase from them anymore.
you can have my gun, bullets first!

Synchronizor
Elite Shotgunner

Re: sporting shells

Post by Synchronizor » Sun Feb 24, 2013 1:29 am

I really like a 1 1/8 oz. load of #8 shot on a 3 DE charge as a single shell that'll work for any clay-shooting game. You can optimize a little more with #7.5 for trap and #9 for skeet, but a #8 shell is a good catch-all.

I tend to use Federals because they offer that load for pretty cheap, and it cycles well in my gun. Remington offers the same load, and I used to use them because they were a little cleaner than the Federals, but they stopped making them in bulk packs, so now the 3 DE shells are tougher to find for a good price. Pretty much every manufacturer offers that same load, so look around and see what you can find in your area.

All I'll say is to avoid the Winchester Universals and other budget Winchester target loads; the shells are poorly constructed, with dirty powder and very thin, weak steel bases that are notorious for hanging up in all kinds of shotguns.

hobylicious
New Shotgunner

Post by hobylicious » Sun Feb 24, 2013 2:44 am

what does DE stand for? also i never fully understood the shot #'s...with #7 shot is it saying 7mm balls or 1/7th inch or what? i apologize for the most likely obvious answer questions but i am sort of new, i can shoot accurately but dont know much of whats in the shell im shooting

hobylicious
New Shotgunner

Post by hobylicious » Sun Feb 24, 2013 3:05 am

nvm on shot size..i found a nice chart for it

Shot number diameter (inches) diameter (mm) approx no. of
pellets in 1 oz.