New Guy Here With Some Questions

Discussion of the Remington 870 for hunting.
Z7What

New Guy Here With Some Questions

Post by Z7What » Sun Jan 03, 2016 12:48 am

A couple years ago I bought a Rem 870 Express 28" with Synthetic Stock which has a Mod Choke Installed from the factory. I had only shot it about dozen times at skeet using 2-3/4" 7-8 shot. This past week I was invited to go on a duck hunt and it was suggested I get some 4 shot. It just so happen that I had some 2-3/4" 4 shot so that's what I brought. Shot my first duck, a Male Green Wing Teal. Well I just got invited to another friends lease, he suggested because we will be going after geese to get some 3" BBB shot, went today and all walmart had was 3" BB shot so that's what I bought. Since im new to shot guns and bird hunting I just want to confirm that the 3" BB shot will be safe to shoot out of the 870 with the Mod choke.

I ordered a Uncle Mikes Cap Set #18002 so I can add a sling to it. Are there any other mods that makes the 870 a little better?

Thank Wayne
Remington 870 Express 28" Synthetic Stock
Browning X-Bolt Stainless Stalker .270 With Ziess 3X9-40 Scope
Ruger 10/22 Carbine With Pentax 4X16-50 Scope
Ruger SR22 .22LR Pistol
Glock 22 40S&W With Adjustable Sights
Glock 43 9MM

Synchronizor
Elite Shotgunner

Re: New Guy Here With Some Questions

Post by Synchronizor » Sun Jan 03, 2016 3:27 am

Birdshot sizes explained (video)

I'm assuming this is steel BB shot, factory lead BB loads are pretty rare these days. Chokes are more sensitive to shot material than they are to shot size. You should make sure your choke tube is rated for steel shot. If it isn't explicitly printed on the tube, but it's a fairly recent-manufacture flush tube, it should be able to handle steel. If it says "lead only", don't shoot steel in it.