Need 870 Wingmaster help

Discussion of the Remington 870 for hunting.
WNC Man

Need 870 Wingmaster help

Post by WNC Man » Sun Oct 26, 2014 11:18 pm

Hi, I have an opportunity to go turkey hunting this spring. I have a 1979 Wingmaster Police 2 3/4 with a 18.5" barrel. I have got a couple of questions:
Is a 2 3/4 shell OK for turkey hunting? If so which turkey load should I use?
Which Remington barrel should I purchase?
Which choke should I use?
Do I need to camo up/ cover the stock?
Any help from experienced Remington 870 turkey hunters would really be appreciated.
Thanks,
WNC Man

Synchronizor
Elite Shotgunner

Re: Need 870 Wingmaster help

Post by Synchronizor » Sun Oct 26, 2014 11:53 pm

You can certainly hunt turkeys with 2.75" 12ga shells, I have a young friend who hunts turkeys with a 20ga. I know of high-quality 1.5-ounce 2.75" turkey loads from both Remington and Winchester; that's plenty of shot to take a turkey with the right choke and proper shot placement.

Remington makes both vent-rib and rifle-sight turkey barrels for the 870. These are generally 20" - 23" barrels that are threaded for Rem Chokes. These will have 3" or 3.5" chambers, but they'll work on your gun with 2.75" shells just fine.

You'll probably want to start with a Full or Extra-Full choke tube. These are included with some turkey barrels, but they're also easy to find on their own. The most important thing is that you test your ammo and choke together in your gun, to make sure you have an effective combination.

Folks have been killing turkeys long before camo guns became popular. You can add camo tape or buy a camo-finished turkey barrel if you want, but I wouldn't consider it a necessity.

gritz
New Shotgunner

Post by gritz » Fri May 22, 2015 2:35 am