Side saddle upgrade solution

Discuss all accessories and upgrades available for the Remington 870 shotgun: stocks, forends, barrels, chokes, magazine extensions, followers, safeties, sights etc.
wonderwolf
New Shotgunner

Side saddle upgrade solution

Post by wonderwolf » Fri Sep 09, 2016 7:03 pm

Hey guys/gals, long time lurker and finally joined.

The 870 has been of great interest to me for the last 5-6 years and I've been working to continue to improve my guns in cost effective ways. I have a solution I'm sure isn't original but something I came up with after I stripped out the last "spare" side saddle I had in the parts bins here in the wolf den. I'm not a machinist by trade but started doing my own work out of interest to build it better and save money on buying costly upgrades that might not work out.

Anyways here is what I came up with to fix stripped out side saddles its fairly straight forward. They should never strip out from recoil or field stripping with this system and are far more robust (lots more thread engagement) than the 1.5 thread we had to work with before. See below

http://wonderwolfs.blogspot.com/2016/07 ... icati.html

I hope you find that info enlightening. I just wanted to add some stuff to the bank of upgrades here before I start gleaning more tidbits myself :D

Vitaly
Owner

Re: Side saddle upgrade solution

Post by Vitaly » Fri Sep 16, 2016 10:17 am

Interesting and useful information, thanks!
http://www.Rem870.com - Blog about the Remington 870 Shotgun

Synchronizor
Elite Shotgunner

Post by Synchronizor » Wed Sep 21, 2016 12:12 am

Neat. I thought of something very similar when I stripped out the front hole on my first TacStar sidesaddle, but I didn't have access to any of the machining tools to do it myself, and after inquiring with a local machine shop, I decided to just buy another sidesaddle and some better screws. Haven't had a problem yet, though I honestly don't run it much.

wonderwolf
New Shotgunner